Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Governor's Welcome


I would like to welcome you and your family to our school.  White Waltham C of E Academy is a unique and special place where we nurture children from their first experience of education on their journey to become lifelong learners.


Every child is different and we work in partnership with parents to develop each individual to reach their full potential.


As the chair of governors I have been involved with White Waltham for a number of years and have watched it grow and develop into the outstanding school that it is today.  With our rapidly changing environment I am confident that we can play our part in preparing our children for their future to be responsible, creative, well educated adults with a strong Christian ethos.


Chris Ford

Chair of Governors

Picture 1 Governor Linda Jones meeting with children

Governor Comments

Christmas Activities

I attended the year 2 Christingle service at school and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was great to see the children all so engaged and confident in front of a school hall full of other pupils and parents. Each child played their part in the service and I could tell that a great deal of hard work and preparation had gone into it. The year 2 children all looked like they were enjoying themselves and participated enthusiastically in every aspect of the Christingle service – well done year 2! Abigail Palmer-Page


It was great to part of the Christmas dinner again this year, the children really enjoyed themselves and it was great to see all the year groups mixed up and enjoying spending time together. The behaviour was excellent and the food was delicious! Suzie Henwood


I attended the school Christmas dinner, helping with the set up of tables, serving of meals, and tidying up afterwards. I dined in the Year 5 classroom with Mr Bruning and all the children were very well behaved and enjoyed the meal very much (as did I). All the children (and staff!)  I encountered during the day were polite and behaving well. Andy Eden


Collective Worship

It can be difficult to assess the extent to which the experiences provided by the school help the children in our care to fulfil their potential to become well rounded, independent emotionally mature individuals. The class led Collective Worship is one of the simplest and best ways to evaluate this. British and Christian values almost oozed out of the hall that morning. Linda Jones


Prize Giving

A lovely way for the children to celebrate their hardwork throughout the year - with focus on those who have achieved as well as improved.  The prize giving also recognises children who have been involved school initiatives such as collective worship and the green team.  Another example of the white Waltham providing a really positive environment that encourages learning. Suzie Henwood


Meet our Governors

Meet our Governors 1 Chris Ford - Chair
Meet our Governors 2 Suzie Henwood - Parent Governor
Meet our Governors 3 Lisa Knill
Meet our Governors 4 Linda Jones
Meet our Governors 5 Abigal Palmer-Page - Parent Governor
Meet our Governors 6 Julia Hodgson - Foundation Governor
Meet our Governors 7 Alison Mills (Vice Chair)
Meet our Governors 8 Myles Woodhouse - Non - Teaching Staff Governor

Our Governing Body

  • Chris Ford - Chair of Governors and Director of Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust
  • Alison Mills - Vice Chair of Governors
  • Andy Eden - Responsible Officer
  • Lisa Knill - Governor
  • Isabel Cooke - Executive Principal
  • Linda Jones - Governor
  • Andy Eden - Governor
  • Myles Woodhouse - Non Teaching Staff Governor
  • Matt Thompson - Head of School
  • Julia Hodgson - Foundation Governor
  • Suzie Henwood - Parent Governor
  • Abigail Palmer-Page - Parent Governor


Governor Roles

  • SEN Governor - Lisa Knill
  • Health & Safety Governor - Lisa Knill
  • Child Protection - Lisa Knill


Supporting Staff

  • Carolyn Thompson - Business Manager, Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust
  • Kirsty Freebody - Clerk to the Governors, Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust
  • Chris Hodgson - Finance Officer, Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust


Committee Structure

We have three Committee's of Governors who meet on an ad-hoc basis when needed as follows:-


Admissions Committee                       Appeals Committee                          Staffing Committee

Isabel Cooke                                          Andy Eden                                           Chris Ford

Myles Woodhouse                                 Knowl Hill Governors                           Lisa Knill           

Julia Hodgson                                                                                                     Alison Mills

                                                                                                                            Linda Jones


Governor Date of Appointment and Term of Office

All Governors were re-elected at the commencement of the Ashley Hill Multi Academy Trust for a four year term of office (September 2014 to August 2018).


How to contact our Governing Body

If you would like to contact the Governing Body, please address your letter to the Chair of Governors, c/o White Waltham CE Academy, Waltham Road, White Waltham, SL6 3SG.

Governors Attendance Register

Please find below the Governors Attendance Register for 2016-2017. The key is as follows:-

  • P - Present
  • A - Absent
  • - Absence not sanctioned by the Governing Body
  • N/A - Not required at the meeting
  • MAT - Maternity Leave


Name of Governor 27.09.16 17.11.16 24.01.17 22.05.17
Chris Ford P P P P
Alison Mills P P P A
Suzie Henwood P P P P
Julia Hodgson P P P P
Andy Eden A A P A
Linda Jones P P P P
Lisa Knill P P P P
Myles Woodhouse P P P P
Abigail Palmer-Page P P P P
Isabel Cooke P P P P
Matt Thompson P P P P
Carolyn Thompson N/A N/A P P
Kirsty Freebody P P P P
Chris Hodgson N/A P P A


Governor Business Interests

Relationships between Governors and members of the school